The Functional Unit of the Kidney

  1. Glomerulus
  2. Nephron
  3. Arteriole
  4. Blood


2. Nephron

The nephron is the structural and functional unit of the kidney. Each kidney has about one million complex tubular microscopic structures of nephrons. The Nephron has two parts: the renal capsule and the renal tubule. The renal corpuscle consists of a tuft of capillaries called a glomerulus and an encompassing Bowman’s capsule and the renal tubule extends from the renal capsule.

Leave a Reply